Wrestling Mess – Sports Ministry to announce names of supervisory committee members on Sunday: Report | wrestling news

The sports ministry will on Sunday name the members of its oversight committee, which will probe allegations of sexual harassment and corruption against Wrestling Federation of India president Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, ministry sources said. Sources confirmed this after a meeting between Sports Minister Anurag Thakur, Sports Secretary Sujata Chaturvedi and SAI DG Sandeep Pradhan on Saturday. The clash between the agitating grapplers and the WFI ended for the time being after the athletes called off their protest late on Friday following the government’s assurance that the first step was to temporarily remove Singh.

After the marathon meeting ended, Thakur said the government has decided to set up an oversight committee to investigate the allegations of some of the country’s top wrestlers, including Vinesh Phogat, Bajrang Punia, Sakshi Malik and Ravi Dahiya.

The names of the committee members were to be announced on Saturday.

“The sports ministry will announce the names of the three-member monitoring/investigation panel on Sunday,” a source told PTI.

According to ministry sources, a two-hour long meeting was held between Khabar, Thakur, Chaturvedi and Pradhan.

The committee will also oversee the day-to-day functioning of the federation.

Earlier in the day, the WFI rejected all allegations against its president, including allegations of sexual harassment, and claimed that the wrestlers’ protest was motivated by “a hidden agenda to oust the current management”.

The WFI, in response to the government’s notice, denied all the allegations and insisted that there was “no scope for arbitrariness and mismanagement” in the federation.

The sports ministry sought an explanation from the WFI after the country’s top wrestlers staged a sit-in alleging that the federation chief sexually harassed female wrestlers and treated them like “dictators”.

Before the aggrieved wrestlers agreed to end their protest, the Indian Olympic Association on Friday constituted a seven-member committee headed by MC Mary Kom to probe the allegations against Sharan.

The IOA panel was formed even as the wrestlers’ sit-in protest entered its third day.

Apart from legendary boxer Mary Kom and wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, the panel includes archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWLF) president and IOA treasurer Sahdev Yadav.

The IOA committee has two advocates — Talish Roy and Shlok Chandra — besides former shuttler and IOA joint secretary Alkananda Ashok, who is its vice chairperson.

The decision was taken at an emergency executive council meeting of the IOA, which was attended by Olympic champion shooter Abhinav Bindra, Olympic bronze medalist Yogeshwar, IOA president PT Usha and joint secretary Kalyan Chaubey.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is generated automatically from a syndicated feed.)

Featured video of the day

“Request PM Modi to close wrestling federation”: ex-coach

Topics covered in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.