WPL auction to be held in first week of February, teams to have Rs 12 crore purse: report

The Women’s Premier League (WPL) has made some headlines. Adani Sportsline Private Limited bought the Ahmedabad team for Rs 1,289 crore. Apart from this 3 IPL franchises Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and Delhi Capitals (DC) bought the team

Capri Global bought the Lucknow team for Rs 757 crore. In a 5 team Women’s Premier League (WPL) we can expect interesting competition. It would not be wrong to say that this league could change the face of not only the Indian women’s cricket team but also global cricket.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 predictions | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket match prediction today | cricket news | Cricket Live Score | Australia’s tour of India 2023

India Women's Cricket Team
India Women’s Cricket Team. Image credit: Twitter

BCCI in WPL auction

According to reports, the WPL auction will be held in the first week of February. Women’s T20 World Cup is going to start from February 10. IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal was asked about WPL. “About [the venues for the] Season one, we’re still talking about. That work is in progress. In this case we have to look at the logistical challenges involved [WPL] be multi-city standard or single-city standard,” Arun Dhumal said.

IPL 2023 | Indian national cricket team | IND v NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs. AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

BCCI. Image credit: Twitter.

Exciting WPL ahead

BCCI has allowed 5 foreign players in the playing 11 out of which 1 should be from allied countries which will make the competitions interesting. Franchises will have Rs 12 crore to pick a squad and the league is touted to be the next big thing in women’s cricket.

Indian women's cricket team
Indian women’s cricket team. Image credit: Twitter

BCCI must go for multiple city venues as it will attract huge crowds and at the same time have competitive wickets which will level the competition. The BCCI will hope that the Women in Blue will get used to the tough conditions in ICC tournaments.

Also read: Indian pacer Renuka Singh has been named the ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.