Women’s Premier League (WPL): Adani Group makes highest bid to buy Ahmedabad franchise for Rs 1289 crore

Tags: Women’s Premier League

Release Date: January 26, 2023

Women’s Premier League (WPL) teams went on sale on Monday, January 25 ahead of the league’s inaugural edition, which could be held in March. Adani Sportsline Pvt Ltd, the sports arm of Gautam Adani, made the highest bid for a team and bought Ahmedabad for Rs 1289 crore.

The remaining four teams were bought by Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd. (Mumbai Rs. 912.99 crore), Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd. (Bangalore at 901 crore), JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd. (Delhi for Rs. 810 crore) and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd. (Lucknow Rs. 757 crore). The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said the combined bid amount for the five teams was Rs 4669.99 crore.

Earlier, the BCCI had sold the media rights of WPL to Viacom 18 for Rs 951 crore for five years – Rs 7.09 crore per match for the period 2023-27. Through the combined sale of franchises and media rights, the WPL has now become the second largest cricket league in the world, behind only the IPL. It has become one of the richest women’s leagues in the world after the WNBA and the Women’s Super League.

369 Slingshot Sports Venture Ltd, Amrit Lila Enterprise Pvt Ltd, APL Sports Pvt Ltd, KPL Dream Cricket Pvt Ltd, Knight Riders Sports Pvt Ltd, Oam Industries Ltd (Haldiram), Sun TV Network Ltd and Yadu International Ltd. Bidders for WPL teams that have failed to win a franchise.

After the Mumbai franchise win, Mumbai Indians owner Nita Ambani commented, “I am sure our women’s MI team will take the Mumbai Indians brand of fearless and entertaining cricket to an entirely new level. My heartiest congratulations to the BCCI for this landmark announcement! will pave the way for participation. At Reliance, we are committed to the glorious rise of women not just in cricket but in sports in general.”

Reacting to the sale of the team, an elated BCCI secretary Jai Shah said, “This is a historic day for women’s cricket. I welcome Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd., Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd., Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd., JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd. and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Limited to Women’s Premier League. The combined bid of INR 4669.99 crore shows that our stakeholders fully believe in the concept and believe in BCCI’s vision and plans for the league.

“I thank all the participants for their overwhelming response. I believe that with record media rights valued earlier and now through these high bids, the league will be a commercially independent and self-sustaining property,” he added.

According to reports, the inaugural edition could be held from March 4 to 26. Also, five foreign players will be allowed in the XI (four foreigners and one cricketer from an allied country). The event is likely to be held in Mumbai, but it is also likely to be a two-city event.

— By a cricket reporter

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.