ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup: Early Predictions

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup will be held in India in October and November 2023 Ahead of this year’s competition, here’s a look at the teams most likely to lift the trophy


Held every four years 13th ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Originally scheduled to take place in February and March 2023. However, due to the ongoing Covid-19 disruption, it was moved to October and November 2023. India is the host country, which means it automatically qualifies.

The other nine qualifying nations came from the 2020–2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League and the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifiers. Australia, England, Pakistan and New Zealand are among the teams that have already booked their places. The competition will consist of a round-robin stage, followed by a knock-out stage, leading to the final on 26 November 2023.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup was last held in the summer of 2019 England defeated New Zealand in a dramatic final at Lord’s that went down to a super over and was ultimately decided on a number of boundaries.

Teams to watch

Australia: The most successful team in World Cup history, with five wins so far, Australia should once again start as a main contender. In the 2019 tournament, the team reached the semi-final stage, before losing to eventual winners England. Australia is expected to make a strong showing at the 2023 competition.

England: eg The current World Cup champion, also the winners of the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, it’s hard not to make England one of the favourites. Under the leadership of Ben Stokes, England have enjoyed a resurgence at Test level, so the team must have momentum heading into the World Cup.

India: With home advantage, two-time World Cup winners India have excellent chances to enjoy a successful 2023 campaign. The last World Cup victory came in 2011 and the team reached the semi-final stage on the previous two occasions. The squad under Rohit Sharma will surely want to give its fans plenty to cheer about. For those who can’t wait for the team to take the field for the World Cup, there is an option to watch a live cricket match today and enjoy plenty of domestic and international action between now and October.

new Zeeland: Although the Kiwis lost to England last time, it was by the narrowest margin, tied after 50 overs – and again after extra overs. New Zealand also reached the final in 2015, losing to co-hosts Australia. All this could inspire the New Zealanders to go one better in 2023 and take home the trophy for the first time.

Pakistan: Coming off the back of defeat to England in the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Pakistan will be hoping to go one step further and repeat their 1992 success in the 50-over tournament. However, Pakistan’s participation in the tournament is in question due to its dispute with India over its presence in the Asia Cup.

With Afghanistan and Bangladesh also taking part among the countries, the World Cup will undoubtedly have some surprises. This is especially true in the round-robin stages, which can affect teams competing in the knock-out stages.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.